Home »  About BCEN » Awards


BCEN® Honorary Certification Recognition Award


BCEN annually recognizes one organization that has demonstrated exceptional support for promoting the process of certification in emergency nursing, flight nursing, critical care ground transport nursing and/or pediatric emergency nursing.

Recipients of the BCEN Honorary Certification Recognition Award

2016 - Avera McKennan Hospital Emergency Department - Large Health Care Facility (Sioux Falls, SD)
2016 - Angel MedFlight - Small Health Care Facility (Scottsdale, AZ)
2015 - Indiana University Health Methodist Hospital EMTC - Large Health Care Facility (Indianapolis, IN) 
2015 - IU Health Saxony Hospital Emergency Department -Small Health Care Facility (Fishers, IN)

2014 - Coastal Carolina SCENA Chapter of ENA (Conway, SC)
2013 - Stormont-Vail HealthCare (Topeka, KS)
2012 - HCA Flower Mound Emergency Center/Medical Center of Lewisville (Flower Mound, TX)
2011 - Iowa Methodist Medical Center (Des Moines, IA)
2010 - Saint Vincent Health Care Center (Erie, PA)
2009 - Oak Hill Hospital (FL)
2008 - Edward Hospital (Naperville, IL)


Distinguished CEN® Award

Each year BCEN recognizes one individual who has shown notable dedication to, and ongoing support for, certification in emergency nursing.

Recipients of the Distinguished CEN Award

2016 - Kara Bauman, MN, RN, CEN, CPEN, TCRN (Fairfax, VA)
2015 - Diane Branson, RN, CEN, OR-SANE-A (Albany, OR)

2014 - Delta Williams, MSN, FNP-C, RN, CEN (Brooklyn, NY)
2013 - Katy Howe, BSN, RN, CEN (Greenwood, IN)
2012 - Buffy Lafont, BSN, RN, CEN (Cut Off, LA)
2011 - Libby Cowling, BSN, RN, CEN (IN)
2010 - Sharon M. Schultz, RN, MSN, CNS, CEN (Wheatridge, CO)
2009 - Kay Ella Bleecher, RN, MSN, CEN, NREMT-P (Harrisburg, PA)
2008 - Natalie Root, RN, MSN, CEN (Fredericksburg, VA)


Distinguished CFRN®/CTRN® Award

The Distinguished CFRN/CTRN Award, presented annually by BCEN and the Air and Surface Transport Nurses Association (ASTNA), recognizes one CFRN or CTRN who has shown outstanding support of the certification process in flight or critical care ground transport nursing. BCEN and ASTNA post a call for nominations for the Distinguished CFRN/CTRN Award in mid-fall.

Recipients of the Distinguished CFRN Award

2017 - Bambi Pish-Derr, DNP, CFRN, CCRN (Mesa, AZ)
2015 - Mick McCallum, TNS, RN, CFRN, CCRN, EMT-P, FP-C, CMTE (Topeka, KS)

2014 - Keith Velaski, RN, CFRN (Shafer, MN)
2013 - Jeff "Odie" White, RN, CFRN (Goddard, KS)
2012 - Valarie Rumbley, MSN, RN, CFRN, CEN (Semmes, AL)
2011 - Daniel C. Smith, BSN, RN, CFRN, CEN (NJ)
2010 - Steve Myers, RN, CEN, CFRN, EMT-P (Blanding, UT)
2009 - Lyle Butler, RN, BS, CEN, CFRN, EMT-PS (IA)
2008 - Reneé S. Holleran, RN, PhD, CEN, CCRN, CFRN, CTRN, FAEN (Salt Lake City, UT)

Recipients of the Distinguished CTRN Award

2016 - Kimberly Lacina, MSN, ARNP-C, CTRN, CEN, EMT-P (Palm Harbor, FL)
2011 - Renee Gaffney, RN, CTRN, CEN (VT)
2010 - Michael Harris, RN, MSN, MEd, CCRN, CTRN (Cincinnati, OH)
2008 - Stephen Teitelman, RN, BS, CTRN, CFRN, CEN, CCRN, FP-C, NREMT-P (Philadelphia, PA)

Distinguished CPEN® Award

The Distinguished CPEN Award is given to one individual who has shown exemplary support and recognition for certification in pediatric emergency nursing.

Recipients of the Distinguished CPEN Award

2016 - Brian Johnson, RN, CEN, CPEN (Walnut Creek, CA)
2015 - Kristen Cline, BSN, RN, CEN, CPEN, SANE-A (Sioux Falls, SD)

2014 - Tracey Croteau, BSN, RN, CEN, CPEN (Hooksett, NH)
2013 - Charlene P. Draleau, MSN, RN, CPEN, CPN (Harrisville, RI)
2012 - Denise Downey, MSN, RN, CPEN (Lakeville, MA)
2011 - Carl Bradley Guffin, BSN, RN-BC, CPEN (FL)
2010 - Jason Nagle, RN, CEN, CPEN, CPN, FNE, EMT (Winston-Salem, NC)

Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification

BCEN's Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN®), Certified Flight Registered Nurse (CFRN®) and Certified Pediatric Emergency Nurse (CPEN®) credential have been accredited by the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC).

Air & Surface Transport Nurses Association