Home »  Get Certified » TCRN » About Exams

About Exams

Certifications are developed and earned typically from a certification corporation, such as BCEN®. Certifications are designed to elevate professional standards and enhance individual performance.

BCEN certifications provide designations to nursing professionals who demonstrate the knowledge essential to the specialty of trauma nursing care, associated specialties and subspecialties.

The objectives of certification are to promote quality trauma nursing care by:

  • Establishing a level of knowledge, competency, requirements, and achievements

  • Measuring the attainment of a defined body of knowledge needed to function at the competent level

  • Encouraging participation in continuing education

  • Promoting professional development and career advancement

  • Providing employers, patients and peers a mechanism to recognize knowledgeable professionals

  • Promoting self-confidence

Upon successful completion of the TCRN® certification exam, trauma nursing care professionals earn the privilege of using the TCRN credential with their name to be formally recognized by employers, patients, peers, and the public.

BCEN certifications can be viewed as a standard of competency and commitment to continuing education and provide proof of dedication to the practice of trauma nursing care.

BCEN exams are based on specialty nursing role delineation studies. These research studies also known as a practice analysis or job analysis are conducted by exam committees of subject matter experts.

As part of the role delineation study (RDS), survey instruments are distributed throughout the United States. The survey responses guide the exam committee in determining tasks and knowledge areas. The integrated concepts, cognitive level distribution, and the number of items (questions) specified within each content area are developed by an iterative process resulting in unanimous agreement from the exam committee. Click here to access the 2015 Executive Summary titled, A National Role Delineation Study of the Trauma Nurse.

Item writers create exam questions and the items are reviewed, revised, and approved by the exam committee. The items are also repeatedly reviewed throughout the exam development process.

Examinations are delivered by computer at Pearson VUE testing centers. The examinations are administered daily Monday through Friday depending on appointment availability (national holidays excluded.)

Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification

BCEN's Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN®), Certified Flight Registered Nurse (CFRN®) and Certified Pediatric Emergency Nurse (CPEN®) credential have been accredited by the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC).

Air & Surface Transport Nurses Association