Home »  Get Certified » CTRN

Get Certified – CTRN®

Signify Your Expertise. Validate Your Competancy. Get Certified!

The Certified Transport Registered Nurse (CTRN) certification measures the attainment of a defined body of nursing knowledge specific to critical care ground transpor nursing. Currently, more than 200 nurses hold the CTRN certification. The CTRN exam is based on ground transport nursing practice in the United States.

You must pass the CTRN exam to attain initial certification. To be eligible to sit for the CTRN exam, you must be a Registered Nurse with a current unrestricted license. A nursing certificate that is equivalent to a registered nurse in the United States is also acceptable. BCEN® recommends 2 years' experience as a ground transport nurse; however, it is not required.

Throughout BCEN's website you’ll find resources to help you study and understand the exam material. Upon successful completion of the certification exam, the CTRN credential is valid for 4 years.

Flight or Transport Certification? 
If you are a transport nurse who practices solely in the flight environment, you can obtain or maintain the CFRN® credential. If you are a transport nurse who practices in critical care ground environments or if you practice in both ground and air environments, then you should choose whichever exam is most appropriate for your practice population or even become certified in both!

Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification

BCEN's Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN®), Certified Flight Registered Nurse (CFRN®) and Certified Pediatric Emergency Nurse (CPEN®) credential have been accredited by the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC).

Air & Surface Transport Nurses Association