Home »  Get Certified » TCRN

Get Certified - TCRN®

Enrich Your Future. Get Certified Today!

The Trauma Certified Registered Nurse (TCRN) exam incorporates the body of knowledge in trauma nursing across the continuum of care, from injury prevention through reintegration to home. Currently, more than 2,100 nurses hold the TCRN certification.

To qualify for the exam, you must hold a current unrestricted Registered Nurse license in the United States or its Territories. A nursing certificate that is equivalent to a Registered Nurse in the United States is also acceptable.

BCEN® recommends two years of trauma nursing experience at an average of 1,000 practice hours per year across the trauma care continuum (trauma nursing practice defined as providing direct care, supervision, education, and advocacy for trauma patients and their families). Also, twenty (20) to thirty (30) hours of trauma specific coursework across the trauma continuum.

Throughout BCEN's website you will find resources to help you study and understand the exam material.

Upon successful completion of the certification exam, the TCRN credential is valid for a period of 4 years. 

Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification

BCEN's Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN®), Certified Flight Registered Nurse (CFRN®) and Certified Pediatric Emergency Nurse (CPEN®) credential have been accredited by the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC).

Air & Surface Transport Nurses Association