Home »  Recertify » CEN » Recertification Options

CEN® Recertification Options

Your CEN certification must be recertified every 4 years. BCEN® recommends you begin the recertification process at least 3 to 4 months before your certification expires; see each recertification option for more information and 

There are three options for CEN recertification:

  1. Continuing Education (CE) by Attestation - $210 ENA Members / $350 Non-Members
  2. Internet-based testing (IBT) - $250 ENA Members / $370 Non-Members *(Last day to submit an application is by 08/28/18 - 4 p.m. CST.)
  3. CEN exam - $210 ENA Members / $350 Non-Members

*In an effort to provide you with  more streamlined certification solutions, the Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN®) Internet-Based Exam (IBT) recertification option will no longer be available after August 28, 2018. 

IBT exam applications must be submitted no later than 08/28/18 - 4 p.m. CST.

Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification

BCEN's Certified Emergency Nurse (CEN®), Certified Flight Registered Nurse (CFRN®) and Certified Pediatric Emergency Nurse (CPEN®) credential have been accredited by the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC).

Air & Surface Transport Nurses Association